

The Twenty-Sixth Inter-Club Print Championship

21 OCTOBER 2023, Croston Theatre, Westholme School **Sponsored by www.permajet.com.**

and supported by Hive Insurance Brokers www.stbinsurance.co.uk/pagb-apply/

The judges Armando Jongejan FRPS Erica Oram CPAGB AFIAP BPE3 Christine Widdall MPAGB EFIAP FBPE APAGB HonL&CPU

Organising sub-committee

Chairman. David Smith CPAGB LRPS Rod Wheelans MPAGB MFIAP FIPF FRPS HONPAGB HONSPF Libby Smith MPAGB EFIAP HONPAGB HONSPF Alan Lomakin CPAGB AFIAP BPE³ LSWPP Paul Radden DPAGB EFIAP⁵ PSA⁴

The Results of the 26th Celebration of the PAGB Inter-Club Print Championship.

The 2023 PAGB Inter-Club Print Championship was held in the excellent setting of Westholme School's Croston Theatre Those of you who are regular readers of PAGB **e-news** (as I'm sure you all are) will have read the words of Leigh Preston, *"Printing is simply a way of interpreting what you took with your camera, but important as a means of personal expression. Recapturing what you felt when you pressed the shutter is a voyage of discovery in the art of the possible". This Print Championship is a wonderful opportunity for us all to join in the voyage of discovery in the art of photography. David Smith, Chair, PAGB Inter-Club Print Championship Committee*

LICHFIELD are the 226th Club to have achieved the honour of participating in this event, along with fellow first time "rookies", BEAUMARIS & MENAI BRIDGE, COLCHESTER, KNARESBOROUGH MELBOURN & DIST, SALTBURN & TRURO. Great credit to them and to all of the 37 competing Clubs. Qualifying for this event is an achievement that many other clubs dream of emulating and

Our thanks are due to everyone who has helped organize this event. Especially, our thanks go to **Permajet** who continue to Sponsor the Championship and to our new insurance brokers, **Hive**, who support this and other events.

The John Robb Quaich is awarded to the Champion Club

The John Robb Quaich is presented in memory of a weel-loved Scottish photographer. A Quaich pronounced, as nearly as a non-Scot can manage, kwaik is a shallow bowl, originally made of bone or wood, but now more commonly crafted in pewter. It was used by Scottish Highlanders to eat their brose or sup their whisky.

The Terry Chapman Plate is awarded to the Plate Competition Winner.

Terry was a tireless and enthusiastic organiser who left his mark on organised amateur photography. We miss him still and this trophy is awarded in his memory.

Because of a tie for 8th Place, 9 Clubs qualified to compete in the Final including Colchester PS who battled through on their very first appearance in the Print Championship.

Congratulations to our Joint Champions, **Catchlight** and **Rolls Royce (Derby)**. This is three times in a row for Catchlight and a second for Rolls Royce (Derby). All of the Finalists qualify for the event in 2024.

Congratulations also to **Melbourn & District PC** who have described themselves as a "small village Club" and who were competing in this event for the first time. They shared the Plate Championship with **Poulton Le Fylde PS** and both automatically qualify to appear in the Championship next year. Very well done to both Clubs!

It is noticeable that the only two Clubs who have participated in every Print Championship, Smethwick and Dumfries, will have to qualify for 2024 by winning or at least coming second in their own Federation Print Championship.

	R INDICATES "ROOKIE" – A CLUB COMPETING FOR THE FIRST TIME IN THIS CHAMPIONSHI	P		SCORE	PLATE
AA	CATCHLIGHT CC	·	NIPA	151	Final
AB		R	WCPF	137	92
AC		R	EAF	145	Final
AC	TYNEMOUTH PS		NCPF	143	89
AD	SMETHWICK PS		MCPF	129	95
	CHORLEY PS		L&CPU	140	Final
AG	MOLD CC		NWPA	143	94
			LCPU	130	94
AH	NORTH CHESHIRE PS				
AJ	CHESTERFIELD PS	_	N&EMPF	137	91
AK		R	NCPF	136	91
AL	WOKING PS		SPA	122	84
AM	ARDEN PG		MCPF	144	Final
AN	PHOTO IMAGING CO-OP		EAF	147	Final
AP	WIGAN 10 FC		L&CPU	147	Final
AR	MOLESEY PC		SPA	132	84
AS	BRISTOL PS		WCPF	139	94
AT		R	EAF	140	98
AV	SOUTHPORT PS		L&CPU	139	95
AW	EDINBURGH PS		SPF	134	93
AX	DUMFRIES CC		SPF	138	93
AY	ROLLS ROYCE DERBY PS		N&EMPF	150	Final
AZ	BEYOND GROUP		EAF	152	Final
BA	MAIDSTONE CC		KCPA	127	83
BB	BEAUMARIS & MENAI BRIDGE CC	R	NWPA	122	83
BC	CHICHESTER CC		SCPF	134	83
BD	CHAPTER SIX		MCPF	139	91
BE	BRIDGEND AND DISTRICT CC		WPF	125	86
BG	NEW FOREST CC		SCPF	138	91
BH	AFAN NEDD CC		WPF	127	83
BJ	CENTRAL PA		NIPA	124	86
BK	KNARESBOROUGH CC	R	YPU	113	78
BL	BURTON ON TRENT PS		MCPF	136	90
BM	WATFORD CC		CACC	127	88
BN	NOTTINGHAM AND NOTTS PS		NEMPF	143	Final
BP	LICHFIELD CC	R	MCPF	134	85
BR	AMERSHAM PS		CACC	127	90
BS	POULTON LE FYLDE PS		L&CPU	140	98

THE TOP 8 CLUBS AND ANY TIED FOR 8th PLACE, PLUS THE WINNERS OF THE PLATE COMPETITION, AUTOMATICALLY QUALIFY FOR AN INVITATION TO NEXT YEAR'S PRINT CHAMPIONSHIP, IN ADDITION TO THE TWO CLUBS NOMINATED BY EACH FEDERATION.

FINAL 2023		SCORE	POSITION
CATCHLIGHT CC	NIPA	191	1=
ROLLS ROYCE DERBY PS	N&EMPF	191	1=
WIGAN 10 FC	L&CPU	185	3
ARDEN PG	MCPF	184	4=
BEYOND GROUP	EAF	184	4=
COLCHESTER PS R	EAF	184	4=
CHORLEY PS	L&CPU	183	7
PHOTO IMAGING CO-OP	EAF	180	8
NOTTINGHAM & NOTTS PS	NEMPF	179	9

Joint Champions
CATCHLIGHT CC
and
ROLLS ROYCE DERBY PS
The John Robb Quaich plus a PAGB Gold Medal

Third Place

WIGAN 10 FC

PAGB Silver Medal

Joint Fourth Place

ARDEN PG BEYOND GROUP COLCHESTER PS

PAGB Silver Medal

Plate Winners PAGB Silver Medal	MELBOURN AND DISTRICT PC and POULTON LE FYLDE PS
Best "Rookie" David's Award	COLCHESTER PS
Back Room Award The Print Sorting team have the honour of choosing their Individual Award	The Animals came in Four by Four Richard O'Meara. Poulton Le Fylde



PREVIOUS CHAMPIONS.

1997	Smethwick P.S
1998	Smethwick P.S
1999	Smethwick P.S
2000	Dumfries C.C.
2001	Solihull P.S.
2002	Smethwick P.S.
2003	Southport P.S.
2004	Smethwick P.S.
2005	Smethwick P.S.
2006	Smethwick P.S.
2007	Amersham P.S.
2008	Arden P.G. in their "rookie" year
2009	Wigan 10 F.C.
2010	Arden P.G.
2011	Arden P.G. and Edinburgh P.S.
2012	Wigan 10 F.C.
2013	Smethwick P.S.
2014	Dumfries C.C.
2015	Dumfries C.C. and Stafford P.S.
2016	Wigan 10 F.C.
2017	Cambridge C.C.
2018	Rolls Royce (Derby) P.S.
2019	Arden P.G.
2020	not held.
2021	Catchlight C.C. and Smethwick P.S.
2022	Catchlight C.C.

THE NEXT INTER-CLUB PRINT CHAMPIONSHIP

TBC, Probably Saturday 26 October 2024 and probably the same venue. Put it in your diary now.

